Nestled in the St. Lawrence River only minutes from downtown Montreal, Nuns’ Island saw its humble beginnings as an agricultural farmstead and the home of a religious order. Extensive development which began in the 1960’s has resulted in the creation of a model community proud of its striking natural setting, its efficient services and its enviable quality of life.

Click here for some historical photo's of the original purchase of Nuns' Island in 1956!!

  17TH CENTURY: Ile St. Paul (aka Nuns’ Island) is homestead and farm to Montreal merchant Jacques Le Ber.

1706: Island is sold to the Sisters of Notre Dame Congregation who continue farming operations and use the island as retreat.

1899: Island is granted municipality status by the Province of Quebec.

1956: Investissements Ile des Soeurs purchases the Island from the Congregation. Island is annexed to neighbouring municipality of Verdun.

1965: Island is leased to MSI of Chicago, mandated to build a ‘dream city’. Proment Corporation begins renovations and conversions on the Island.

1966: Island is officially named Ile des Soeurs, crucial flood protection and expansion are addressed by dike and landfill construction, and residential/commercial development begins in earnest.

1980-present: Accelerated construction of apartment units, townhouses, single family homes and corporate/commercial facilities. Population exceeds 12,000 by year 2000, while over 300 businesses operate on the Island.
 



COPYRIGHT © GROUPE-ACCES communications